Press Release
  • May 11, 2018

Pharrell Williams & Ariana Grande y Alejandro Sanz suman su Talento a ARTURO SANDOVAL en “ULTIMA

Pharrell Williams & Ariana Grande Join Forces For “Arturo
– A ­Personal & Specifically Titled Tribute Also
Featuring The Jazz Icon Himself

Alejandro Sanz Collaborates With Sandoval On Corazón Partio”



These Now Available Tracks Have Joined “Andante, Andante” Featuring ABBA’s Anni-Frid Lyngstad, As Advance Songs From Next Week’s (May 18) Release Of:


This landmark album from the Ten-Time
Grammy Winning Cuban Maestro contains an unparalleled mix of collaborations
with legends and new generation voices from the worlds of Pop, Jazz, Classical
and Latin music – also including


Watch a special preview video of Arturo Sandoval’s “Ultimate

“Legendary Cuban-born jazz trumpeter Arturo Sandoval has
played with everyone from Dizzy Gillespie to Frank Sinatra to Barbara Streisand
to Justin Timberlake to Alicia Keys. He’s won ten Grammys, six Billboard
awards, one Emmy, and Presidential Medal Of Freedom. He’s kind of a big deal.
And he’s recruited a whole bunch of other big names for his new album. The
Ultimate Duets’ features collaborations with Stevie Wonder, ABBA’s Anni-Frid Lyngstad, Josh Groban, Al Jarreau, Plácido Domingo, Juan Luis Guerra, Celia Cruz, Alejandro Sanz, and more. And most relevantly to our interests, it features a brand new song with Pharrell Williams and Ariana Grande. While most of the songs on the album are new recordings of old songs, working on the project apparently inspired Pharrell to write a brand new song dedicated to Sandoval himself. Appropriately enough, it’s titled “Arturo Sandoval,” and it’s a Latin jazz-inflected pop number that features the newly back-in-action Ariana Grande” – STEREOGUM

– – – – – – – – – – – – –

Ten-time Grammy winner Arturo Sandoval will release his new album “Ultimate Duets” on May 18th.  Marking Sandoval’s first release in five years, and the continuation of a distinguished four-decade catalogue of over 30 groundbreaking titles, the album finds artists from the worlds of pop, jazz, classical and Latin music coming together for the Cuban maestro’s first duets release. At the outset of recording, Arturo simply asked each participant to suggest a favorite song they would like to reimagine with the trumpet legend, and the results are as wide-ranging and illustrious as the list of collaborators.

Now available advance tracks as part of the album pre-sale now include
“Andante, Andante” – featuring the awaited return of the globally recognized voice of ABBA’s Anni-Frid Lyngstad. “Corazón Partio” featuring Latin music superstar Alejandro Sanz, and Pharrell Williams & Ariana Grande’s heartfelt and reverently titled “Arturo Sandoval” -which Williams was inspired to write specifically for this album.

With eight time Grammy winning producer Gregg Field also working to bring together very special  collaborators, the project finds Stevie Wonder choosing to record “People” (which he and Sandoval first performed at a Grammy tribute to Barbara Streisand), whereas Prince Royce turned the tables and recorded Stevie Wonder’s  “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing” as a contemporary Bachata. Many other magic moments materialized as the project grew, such as Alejandro Sanz also suggesting the addition of guitar legend Vicente Amigo to a flamenco infused version of Placido Domingo’s classic “Granada”. At Arturo’s own request to his longtime friend Al Jarreau to revisit the famed hit “After All,” the fellow multiple-Grammy winner decided to write a new spoken word introduction. The addition of “The Pyramids, the China Wall… I’ll still be here After All… Mountains may crumble and stars may fall… I’ll
still be here After All.”
became even more emotional and timeless as it became Jarreau’s final recording, with the vocalist sadly passing away soon after the song’s completion. Similarly, Sandoval could not envision completing a full duets album without playing alongside the distinctive voice of his beloved friend and Cuban music icon Celia Cruz.  The album is rounded out with additional duets with the powerful voice of Josh Groban, revered Dominican maestro Juan Luis Guerra, and Spain’s dynamic pop vocalist David Bisbal

Ultimate Duets Track Listing

  1. “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing” – Sandoval & Prince Royce
  2. “Corazon Partio”  – Sandoval & Alejandro Sanz
  3. “People” – Sandoval & Stevie Wonder
  4. “Granada” – Sandoval & Plácido Domingo Ft. Vicente Amigo
  5. “Arturo Sandoval” – Sandoval & Pharell Williams & Ariana Grande
  6. “Solo Esta Soledad” – Sandoval & Josh Groban
  7. “La Bilirrubina” – Sandoval & Juan Luis Guerra
  8. “Andante, Andante” – Sandoval & Anni-Frid Lyngstad
  9. “El Ruido” – Sandoval & David Bisbal
  10. “After All” – Sandoval & Al Jarreau
  11. Quimbara” – Sandoval & Celia Cruz



“Born into poverty in Cuba and held back
by his government, he risked everything to share his gifts with the world. In
the decades since, this astonishing trumpeter, pianist and composer has
inspired audiences in every corner of the world and awakened a new generation
of great performers. He remains one of the best ever to play.” –
Barack Obama (presenting Arturo Sandoval The Presidential Medal of Freedom

Follow Arturo Sandoval on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram

See his full tour schedule here: